Shock Treatment Complete!

Update: Partial video from the race up from Corrigan up on Vimeo!
Vodpod videos no longer available.

Link to Rich’s pics and video

The February race went off without a hitch, it was the tow back up the hill that we had problems with.  Things got a little out of control and one of our guys ended up in the hospital with 12 staples and 3 stitches.  In a couple weeks he will be back in racing form, with a new patch to show for it.  We’ll have the video ready in a couple days.  We also ended up running into the authorities again.  His only complaints were the report that we were closing the road which was not true, and our illegal towing up the hill which was true.  Anywho despite the difficulties it was a good time for all.

Frankenstiens Monster

  1. Jeremy
  2. Matt
  3. Dan
  4. Johnny
  5. Corrigan
  6. Bryan
  7. Brad
12 Responses to Shock Treatment Complete!

  1. Brad says:

    Back from the hospital. Everything has been put back together again. My leg went from looking like a zombie took a bite out of it, to a Frankenstein patch job. Huge thanks to everyone especially Matt and Johnny for getting me the gold club treatment at Kaiser.

  2. Rich says:

    glad to hear it went back together ok.

    hopefully i’ll be racing with you guys next month. I also have a few pics and the video. Who should i give to?
    Rich

  3. Jeremy says:

    @Brad Oh man am I glad too. Hope everything on the home front went well too! So what was the estimated heal time?

    @Rich I hope you get your kart together for next month! If you want go ahead burn the everything and give it to Matt, I can e-mail you a link to an online file sharing place.

  4. Rich says:

    I like using supermotors.com . It’s where I have all my bronco and trip pictures and you can easily upload the original format. I’ll burn everything onto a CD and drop it off with Matt.

  5. Brad says:

    @Jeremy two weeks until the staples come out, then probably some recovery time after that.

    @Rich i’d love to see the footage as well.

  6. Rich says:

    I have a couple of thoughts about how the race went down and ways to make the future races go smoother. If your not in a good mood or you don’t like others opinions, please don’t read further. My opinion comes after being sick for three days and i’m bored out of my mind.

    1. The tow back to the top shouldn’t be done again unless the race is going to be re-ran. At the end of the race, the majority of the vehicles should be at the bottom of the hill allowing for quicker, more organized finish. Doing this also allows the races a quick look at the course which might help aviod accidents from un-forscene tricky spots.

    2. All the karts should be left at the top of the hill placed behind the few vehicles left behind. The less passers by see of the karts, the less likely they are to care about what you are doing there. Also, having 6 or 7 guys standing on the side of the road tends to slow up traffic and cause a lot of looky-lous.

    3. Only when every racer is ready should anyone bring the kart to the “course”. Anyone holding up the start increases the chance of traffic issues.

    4. The follow up vehicle is a great idea and should be done whenever possible. You never know when a stupid motorist might not see a racer and drive over them.

    5. Things need to be smoother and done in steps to make things quicker which should allow for multiple races if done right. Things like using playing cards for position can be done well ahead of time possibley at the initial meeting point.

    6. The San Fernando guys have a “donor” race kart to help get others in to the spirit. The group as a whole should offer up spare parts and materials to help build a loaner. I would have totally raced with you guys plus if someones kart breaks before the first race or during, a loaner would allow them to still race either in the first or if there’s a second, in that one as well.

  7. Jeremy says:

    All really good points Rich. Some of them we have discussed in the past but when we get there we just don’t think about it all.

    I agree we should do the card draw at the meeting spot, along with simple cart inspections. Nothing drastic just a quick safety, primarily brake and now sharp edge inspection.

    So far this is the most traffic we have dealt with, so it was kind of a new ball game. On all the other courses we have hadlittle or no traffic. If/when we run this course again we may have to do it even earlier… do you know what time Carnegie opens? Or have a suggestion as to when that course should be run?

    I agree about the towing, Matt and I were talking about it and we don’t think the towing should be done for that many karts at all any more. It’s too hard to get things stopped if something goes wrong. In the past we had only done two karts at slow speed on an isolated road.

    Same with the donor kart… We kinda planned on it at some point. I think the easiest thing may be to pick up an old go kart frame on the cheap.

    I think things will get smoother every time we run for sure, and I really hope you get to race next time too.

  8. Brad says:

    I’ve got an idea for the towing issue. I’ve got a small trailer and if we weld up some racks, we could put 2 or 3 carts on it, if we tow it with a pickup, and build a rack on the pickup as well, you could stack 2 or three in the bed. of course a van with enough seats for the drivers would make the whole operation street legal. Nothing stops the van from towing a trailer as well.

    As far as hiding and stuff I don’t know if that necessary. I agree with Jeremy that if we do that course again it should be earlier. Carnegie opens at 8 so I’m thinking we should start the race by 7:30 at the latest.

  9. Rich says:

    It looked like a solid course so running it again sounds good. If all the cars are unloaded and the race begins within 5 minutes, it would have been fine this last time. The ranger wouldn’t even have had enough time to drive up and find us.

    Trailers….. I think your onto something. Most cars are less than 2′ tall so with a rack, you should be able to fit 4 or 5 on even the smallest trailer. A sims run is in order. For those that don’t know, Sims in san jose sells new and used steel and aluminum. Steel is $.65 a pund and aluminum is like $2 a pound. The big down side is that during the winter months, they are closed on the weekends.

    P.S. My kart is taking form. I’m currently on the hunt for some wheels but I have almost everything else I need to build it.

  10. Dan says:

    I think that race was awsome, and the ideas are valid. We could have all the cars at the bottom, which would eliminate the towing aspect, but I enjoyed going at the hill sight unseen. As far asa donor car, we could get one, but on build days I am more into building my car than building a donor, I am all for getting a used go-cart frame.

    I know this was your first race Rich, so you havent seen that other time that went much smoother. We can’t do anything about the traffic other than start earlier. Normally we line up and go with in 10 mins.

    I plan on making a trailer for my 54 that will tow my car. Maybe a tear drop….. I need another project….. really I do.

    Last thought, We should use the forum for this kind of chats, and leave the comments for race comments.

  11. Jeremy says:

    Dan’s right we should be using the forum for these discussions. I copied the whole thread over there so it can be continued there if need be.

    http://lvisbf.freeforums.org/discussion-from-the-website-t12.html#p46

Leave a Reply

